Welcome

4 Apr

Here you are. Somehow you found me. Well good for you…and good for me. If you want to get facts, opinions and random musings on the state of online marketing, this is the place for you. My primary interests lie in search engine optimization (SEO), paid search (PPC), social marketing (web 2.0…hate that term), comparison shopping engines and all things Google. But we can talk about whatever you want. This blog truly is meant to be not just a two way street (you and I communicating) but an open forum where you and media players and businesses and I and anyone else who has a well thought out opinion (or at least an interesting one) can chime in.

I want to thank a number of bloggers who encouraged me directly or inspired me through the excellence of their own blogs, to start this project.  It would be a very long list if I mentioned everyone, but here are a few blogs and people, I admire:

http://www.marketingpilgrim.com/ : Andy Beal’s excellent blog. Andy, as most of you know, is an industry giant when it comes to online marketing. He has access and insight that I can only dream of achieving. Andy let me contribute (when he had nothing better to write) to an old blog he started when we worked together in the past.  If you don’t visit his blog daily you are definitely missing out.

http://scobleizer.com/ What can I add that hasn’t been said about, in much more elegant ways, about Scoble? One of the granddaddies of search. A must read.

http://jeremy.zawodny.com/blog/ A playful blog that lets the reader get a taste of Jeremy’s passions as well as a peek into his experience and insight into technology.

http://guinnessandpoker.blogspot.com/ One of my passions is poker, and this is where I go when I want to put a finger on the pulse of the common man and his poker experiences. Iggy’s humor is anything but common, Iggy’s drunken ramblings never fail to make me laugh outloud.

http://www.seoblackhat.com/ One of the good ‘bad guys’ of the SEO world. if you want to know what’s going on in the black hat world, take a read. Plus, he likes poker.

http://www.defectiveyeti.com/ The name itself is enough to interest you! While not the most updated site, I love the irreverence.

That’s enough shameless sucking up for now.

This isn’t my first blog, but it is my first ‘professional’ blog and I’m sure I’ll make plenty of mistakes on the way, so I hope you will call me out when I act the fool, but forgive me in the next breath.

 And with, let’s get started.

2 Responses to “Welcome”

  1. iggy April 5, 2007 at 12:36 am #

    holy shit – how did i get listed here with my heroes?

    good grief, thank you.

  2. surgesilk April 5, 2007 at 11:02 pm #

    I bow before the godfather of poker blogs

Leave a Reply

