Archive | September, 2007

Google Grows Again; AOL Now #4

26 Sep

From ComScore Press Release:

RESTON, VA, September 21, 2007 – comScore, Inc. (NASDAQ: SCOR), a leader in measuring the digital world, today released its monthly comScore qSearch analysis of  the search marketplace.  Among core search engines in August 2007, Google Sites remained the top search property with more than 5.5 billion core searches conducted, representing a 56.5 percent share of the search market. Time Warner Network was the only other core search engine property to increase share, up 0.1 share point to 4.5 percent, with 441 million searches.   In comScore’s recently introduced expanded search report, the largest gains were recorded by YouTube and Craigslist, with 9.0-percent and 7.6-percent increases in their number of search queries. August U.S. Core Search RankingsIn August, Google Sites maintained its position atop the core search rankings with 56.5 percent of U.S. searches, gaining 1.3 share points versus the previous month. Yahoo! Sites ranked second with 23.3 percent, followed by Microsoft Sites (11.3 percent), Time Warner Networks (4.5 percent) and Ask Network (4.5 percent). 

comScore Core Search Report*
August 2007
Total U.S. – Home/Work/University Locations
Source: comScore qSearch 2.0
 

*Based on the five major search engines including partner searches and cross-channel searches. Searches for mapping, local directory, and user-generated video sites that are not on the core domain of the five search engines are not included in the core search numbers.  Nearly 5.5 billion core searches were conducted at Google Sites during the month, marking a 1.6 percent increase in volume versus July. Time Warner Network, assisted by gains at AOL, gained in query volume, with a 1.2-percent increase to 441 million searches. 

comScore Core Search Report*
August 2007
Total U.S. – Home/Work/University Locations
Source: comScore qSearch 2.0
 

*Based on the five major search engines including partner searches and cross-channel searches. Searches for mapping, local directory, and user-generated video sites that are not on the core domain of the five search engines are not included in the core search numbers. August U.S. Expanded Search RankingsIn the August 2007 analysis of the Top 50 properties worldwide where search activity is observed, Google Sites led the pack with 6.8 billion searches. Yahoo! Sites ranked second with nearly 2.5 billion searches, followed by Microsoft Sites (1.1 billion), Time Warner Network (937 million) and Fox Interactive Media (571 million).   

comScore Expanded Search Query Report
August 2007
Total U.S. – Home/Work/University Locations
Source: comScore qSearch 2.0
 

 http://www.comscore.com/press/release.asp?press=1745

Amazon Announces DRM Free Music Downloads

25 Sep

One of the main complaints of DRM is that it is actually aimed at the wrong people. Namely, those who legally purchase music and then are locked in to a particular platform/device. It’s been argued that if people could get DRM free music at a reasonable price, then ‘illegal’ downloads would be diminished. So let’s see! (disclaimer: I have been known *cough* to peruse a torrent or two) Amazon has launched the public beta of a new digital music portal, Amazon MP3. It will include two million songs from 180,000 artists and 20,000 labels, all DRM free. Amazon MP3 which will include EMI and Universal tracks (I smell Apples burning), will make songs (256kbps) for sale @ $.89 or $.99, and promises that the “top 100” tracks will be priced at the lower amount. Albums will range in cost from $5.99 to $9.99, with the best selling albums coming in at $8.99. 

http://home.businesswire.com/portal/site/google/index.jsp?ndmViewId=news_view&newsId=20070925005710&newsLang=en

Shopping.com Changes Coming

25 Sep

 At Shop.org last week, Shopping.com announced some changes coming:

  • Value Based Pricing : pricing per click will be automatically calculated based on each merchant’s traffic performance
  • Product Performance Reporting:Reporting within Shopping.com’s Merchant Account Center can now review specific product performance, identify high-and-low performing products, and analyze performance either by category or by product
  • SKU Level Bidding
  • Shopping Cart: CPA and CPC model supported
  • New UI
  • API to beta in early 2008 (I’ll believe it when I see it)

 What do you think? Do you currently sell on Shopping.com or on the CSE’s in general? What do you want the CSE’s to provide?

http://biz.yahoo.com/bw/070918/20070918005450.html?.v=1

ChannelAdvisor Buys Marketworks

12 Sep

ChannelAdvisor, the leading provider of e-commerce channel management solutions, announced today that it has acquired Marketworks, a leader in marketplace management software and services.

“Acquiring Marketworks solidifies our leadership position and reinforces our commitment to the marketplace segment,” says Scot Wingo, Chief Executive Officer of ChannelAdvisor. “We will continue to evaluate other opportunities in this and other e-commerce channel segments as they arise.”

“Marketworks is excited to join forces with ChannelAdvisor,” says Doug Hadaway, Chief Executive Officer of Marketworks. “This partnership will lead to great things for both company’s customers and partners.”

Following this acquisition ChannelAdvisor will have:

  • 5,500 customers on a global basis
  • $2,500,000,000 in annualized GMV (Gross Merchandise Value)
  • Operating offices in
    • Research Triangle Park, North Carolina
    • Seattle, Washington
    • Atlanta, Georgia
    • Bacharach and Berlin, Germany
    • London, England
    • Melbourne, Australia

ChannelAdvisor will continue to support and invest in Marketworks’ customers and products.

About ChannelAdvisor Corporation
ChannelAdvisor Corporation provides technology and services that enable leading online retailers to maximize their products across multiple e-commerce marketplaces such as eBay, Amazon.com and Overstock.com, comparison shopping engines such as Shopping.com, Shopzilla, Nextag and Google Product Search and search engines such as Google, Yahoo! and MSN. In 2006, ChannelAdvisor managed over $1.6 billion in gross merchandise value (GMV) on behalf of its customers. ChannelAdvisor solutions combine best practices, on-demand software and integration technology to help retailers sell more products, faster, by automating labor-intensive, manual functions so they spend less time optimizing campaigns and more time solving marketing and business issues. ChannelAdvisor’s customers include GSI Commerce, Sears, Brookstone, Abebooks and Motorola. ChannelAdvisor Corporation is headquartered in Research Triangle Park, NC with offices in Seattle, the United Kingdom and Germany. For more information, visit http://www.channeladvisor.com/.

ChannelAdvisor will now work with nearly 50% of the largest Ebay sellers. I don’t work with Ebay, but I can point you in the right direction if you have questions.

Worst Presidential Candidates SERPS

10 Sep

In my Best Presidential candidates post, I promised you the Worst Presidential Candidates (as found in Google). Unlike previous searches, I limited my search to just the top 100 results because just how bad can you be if you past the top ten pages? Don’t answer that…I really don’t want to know.

Unlike the Best Presidential Candidates where there were few results on that all important first page, I am happy to say there are no dearth of candidates vying for the top spots! 5 candidates manage to hit the first page….obviously there are plenty of ‘worst’s out there! I want to congratulate all the campaigns for a fine grasp of online marketing!

The Worst Presidential Candidate SERPS

#3 John Edwards

#4 Barack Obama

#5 Mitt Romney

#6 Chuck Hagel

#8 Hillary Clinton

#14 John Kerry (hello 2000!)

#16 John McCain

#24 Joseph Biden

#25 Mike Gravel

#37 Dennis Kucinich

#42 Rudy Giuliani

#47 Fred Thompson

#65 Al Gore (will he be a candidate?)

#67 Bill Richardson 

Aussies Sue Google Over Deceptive Advertising

10 Sep

The Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC) alleges Google fails to distinguish between paid advertisements and “organic” results. ACCC lawyer, Christine Adamson told the Australian Federal Court that Google has mislead people who think the ranking of its search results are not influenced by payments from advertisers, Australian Associated Press  has reported.

“Google represents to the world that its search engine is so good that it can rank, out of the multitudinous entries of the worldwide web, these entries in order of relevance of the user’s query,” said Adamson.

The ACCC alleges that in 2005, Google’s search engine listed two car dealerships as sponsored links, but that the links fed through to the website of a rival to the dealerships, the classifieds magazine “Trading Post,” which competes with them for automotive sales.

Google has denied any wrongdoing and said it would vigorously fight the charges.

 ——————

I have a love hate/relationship with Google. I love their products and Google has made information retrieval nearly a trivial task, but I hate their accumulation of information pertaining to users. But in this case, there isn’t anything there. Google clearly titles paid search as such and there is NO evidence that Google’s natural results are influenced in any way by paid search spend.

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