Lay offs at ChannelAdvisor

3 Sep

ChannelAdvisor in a cost savings move, laid off/terminated 35 or so people…about 15% of its work force. This number included 4 Vice Presidents which had been terminated a few weeks ago.

I see the writing on the wall and will be exploring a number of options.

14 Responses to “Lay offs at ChannelAdvisor”

  1. crocks September 3, 2008 at 11:08 pm #

    ChannelAdvisor.com is a solid company that does most everything right as far as we arde concerned. We hired then 2 years ago and they have phenomenal services and products. I’m sure the layoffs were to cut the deadwood from the company in an effort to provide better services moving forward. Email me if you want a reference.

  2. Mr. L September 4, 2008 at 1:47 am #

    Try Auctiva?

  3. anon September 4, 2008 at 8:11 am #

    http://www.newsobserver.com/front/story/1205874.html
    A number of people across the board…

  4. Fruity September 4, 2008 at 12:53 pm #

    Why don’t you try helping the little seller who needs to grow their internet presence away from ebay or get onto the web. I am sorry you were fired / layed off. No one likes to be displaced. ChannelAdvisor isn’t really interested in catapulting these types of sellers, I think they are more interested in creating a containment field. Why not work with sellers on the brink of becoming an emerging MEDIUM size business and need people to help develop tools that they all need. Find me, I’ll show you the way. No one wants to tap into this segment of sellers who are vested in online selling

  5. surgesilk September 4, 2008 at 1:36 pm #

    @ crocks
    I would look at other more ‘personal’ issues for a number of the firings. Take for example US sales, Kevin Fitzgerald was the only VP to make his numbers for both revenue and expenses. I was on Kevin’s team and was the # 1 revenue producer on that team.

    @anon
    This is a complete 180 from a few months ago. I would like at the underlying reasons why the switch.

    @Fruity
    I think you are right that ChannelAdvisor doesn’t have these sellers in mind. Support would be the main reason in my opinion. Of course eBay is also moving in that direction as well.

  6. ocdgirl2000 September 5, 2008 at 5:24 pm #

    Try going to the competitors. I know that whenever I mention the GoAntiques and Worthpoint, in the discussion forums of ebay, the posts get pulled immediately. They don’t bother pulling any of the other competitors’ named entries. The link for GoAntiques was also disabled on the live auctions page. That was not an accident either.

    Ebay’s collectibles and antiques market, as well as auction listings, are being badmouthed by Scott, as he is only interested in marketing commercial garbage. So let him, you can go where the “established” money really is! Worthpoint just took on another site in addition to Go. I bet they are going to be very busy soon!

  7. Frank Reed September 9, 2008 at 2:01 pm #

    I was once at PSINet and this smells eerily similar…..9 years and continual promises of profitability. PSINet rarely laid off though because there seemed to be a commitment to the people of the company. I am not getting that sense here.

  8. Majid September 16, 2008 at 12:35 pm #

    I recently worked as a contractor in CA on ASP to .Net migration project (what a mess) and many times raised my concern about their code quality and project management with the development managers (resulting my layoff) but got no response. I just found out that almost all of those people got axed with the recent layoff. This layoff might be a very good thing for company. CA’s first priority should be to build a better development team and then start improving their product. They have a few great developers but a lot of bad ones also. They do not monitor code quality in any way and that has become a major problem with their growth. Any small team of good developers can build a much better product that will easily steal their market share. I used to work for Microsoft and I have seen my share of terrible and great dev teams and that is what ultimately makes a software company successful.

  9. ex CA employee September 20, 2008 at 8:09 am #

    CA has narrowed themselves down to a small ‘in group’ and all layoffs were personal. I for one was laid off, and the manner it was done – by email. I worked for the company full time for over 14 months, over achieved my budgets, received merit increase, positive feedback and then midnight one night, no phone, cut off and an email to my private email address with three paragraphs. I was supposed to receive my contractual payout but now some four months later and many thousands of dollars in legal fees I still have not been paid a cent. I know of many vendors around the globe out of pocket, all other staff that I know that were laid off were laid off because of ‘personal’ reasons, in other words they just didn’t like them. Everyone I know has been either not paid or underpaid their final payouts. Shame on you CA and shame on you – the team of Scot Wingo, Michael Jones et al will drive this company into more ego maniac decisions. My advise to all customers, make sure you have a back up plan. My advise to all investors, right it off as a tax loss. If ChannelAdvisor wanted to stay in the internet space they would have at least have the courtesy to do the right thing and pay people the money they are owed.

    Kevin VP of sales did a fantastic job, but he just stood up to those that had other motifs. Ralph Kasuba was a brilliant VP and again, just spoke the truth. Mysteriously ‘for personal reasons’ the CFO left last January! It is no wonder that this happened given their financial reporting is a mess, they have not been able to keep staff in their finance department and the numbers just don’t add up. The new management team say one thing to their investors and another to staff, then to those of us that were on the inside know the real story. You have ruined my life for four months, you are to be ashamed.

  10. Greg October 6, 2008 at 12:11 pm #

    We’ve been using ChannelAdvisor for almost a year now and are planning to leave it soon.
    My feeling, that we are not getting enough for amount of money paid.
    It may make sense to be with CA for larger users (the ones paying them $100K+ in fees), for the rest of sellers, CA is not even noticing them most of the time (except shows and events like eBay Live!).

    It is normal for CA to answer e-mails in a week and urgent tickets in a couple of weeks (yes, not hours, not days – weeks).
    I believe it is totally unacceptable for a company, we are paying $1000+ a month to, to use their software/services.
    Do not listen to their sales people, they do lie (ok, misrepresent).

    Don’t get me wrong – software itself is not bad (not perfect, but works fine), while it works. CA system malfunctions once in a while and may not work for days in a row. During this service interruptions do not count on their support, they normally do not provide it.
    Customer support in general is one of the worst I ever encountered.
    I would expect them to hire people to support customers…

  11. cussinklaud November 13, 2008 at 3:11 pm #

    Speaking as a former employee off their aquired RichFX division this doesn’t surprise me. Any company which would acquire a true disaster like RichFX can’t not have their heads up their ass. RichFX was bankrupt and being sued for patent infringement, that infringement being they stole their core product! They went through over 60 million dollars and never turned a profit. The CFO went to jail for embezzlement and the entire sales team were hired due to nepotism and in a state of complete chaos and had no management whatsoever. Anytime the prozac riddled, admittedly AHDD afflicted closet case who ran the company was confronted in any way with reality he almost literally ran away. I only stayed there because I thought leaving after less than a year would look bad on my resume. I wanted to relocate to another country (during CA acquisition) and the aforementioned manager (how this guy got control over the entire company shows you what a chaos it was) basically promised me a job there in a company meeting in front of the entire staff then when I moved there didn’t return calls and e-mails. Thanks! I hope I see him in public some day and that he and his subliterate cronies were among those laid off

  12. Dustin Jones December 23, 2008 at 1:31 pm #

    Wow.

    Been talking with CA for a while, just waiting for the right moment (new year) to begin with them. Im slowly realizing that with them, we will achieve more sales and probably cut back on some mistakes and push a bit more product on other sales channels. But at what expense? With out current numbers, we would be handing them over $5K per month and with our projections, 10-15K per month by end of 09′. For $150K, I think I could hire a great employee or two and build customized services to our own needs as we only need a few of their functions.

    Likewise, I am from the RTP area. Used to work off Alexander Drive at Paradigm Genetics ..now Icoria. Remember CA ex-employees, you are of great value to a growing e-commerce business. Someone mentioned they might not want to be involved with one these days, but for a company like us that within one year is doing 550K/month just on ebay alone, a CA professional who could sit down day one and run the software is invaluable to a company in need.

    We are actually hiring next year an E-Commerce Operations Assistant and if you fit the bill as CA expert (website, multisales channels, inventory etc) …or on other software platform, let me know or send me an email to dustin[at] monster cellular dot net.

    Likewise, I would be willing to consult with a CA expert (third party away from CA) to figure out where CA will help us and what features they’re over promising or bottle necks that we might encounter.

    Right now, my listing software cost $15/month and thats managing a Titanium Powerseller pushing 12K items/month with some frustrations. I would rather have the company keep 5K/month and cause a few headaces but the question is, is it worth the cost and can it take us to the next level, saving employees to manager the system and automate business rules and listings across multiple sales channels, without being overcharged for items.

  13. sdghsh April 19, 2010 at 9:14 pm #

    新宿 マッサージ

  14. John Doe June 17, 2010 at 11:13 pm #

    So I heard Michael Jones finalyl got his and “resigned” today at CA. Scot Wingo’s “special” friend must have undoubtedly seen the writing on the wall. Anyone have any info on what’s going on? I heard he’s going to eBay.

    Anyone…?

Leave a Reply

